my story…

My name is Melanie.  I have a toxic and unhealthy relationship with food.  I’ve always had a problem with eating; I began “dieting” when I was thirteen, and I have on and off pretty much constantly since then.  For a brief period during high school and college, my metabolism was high enough that I could eat whatever I wanted.

Then, I got married and gained five pounds.  That was 2002.  Poverty helped me to maintain that weight for the next two years or so while we were living in Waco, TX, but once we moved back home to NC, I gained fifteen pounds and then another twenty in the last year or so.

I eat when I’m sad.  I eat when I’m happy.  I eat when I’m relieved.  I eat when I’m bored.  If there’s an emotion out there, I can find a reason to eat because of it.

So, here is me:

Mel Before

I clocked in this past week at the doctor’s office at 173.8.  I was 131 pounds when I got married six and a half years ago.  And I’m finally fed up enough to change.

Come along for the ride; maybe we’ll both learn a thing or two…

2 thoughts on “my story…

Leave a Reply

