Cream of Broccoli and Cauliflower Soup

I finally actually cooked something tonight (It’s been a while, in case you couldn’t tell).  Last summer, Joey had six weeks of class where he had to go live at school during the week and was only home on the weekends.  It became a little tradition for us that I would make him a special “send-off” meal.  Tomorrow is his first day of French Class, and he’ll be at SouthEastern from Tuesday-Thursday for the next three weeks, so I decided to try something!

I started craving cream of broccoli soup at work today…dunno why, but I wanted some soooo bad.  We’ve had a head of broccoli sitting in the fridge for several days, so I knew that I needed to use it up.  I also had a head of cauliflower, so I figured I’d toss it in there too!

011

Cream of Broccoli/Cauliflower Soup

  • 1/2 head broccoli diced, small, including stalks
  • 1/2 head cauliflower diced, small
  • 1 carton vegetable stock
  • water
  • 2 cups skim milk (or almond/rice/soy milk, whatever’s on hand)
  • 1 onion
  • garlic powder
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • Cornstarch and cold water

Toss the diced onion, broccoli, and cauliflower in a big pot.  Add veggie stock and enough water to cover.  Bring to a simmer and simmer until veggies are tender.  Transfer four or five ladelfuls into a blender and blend until smooth (remember to leave the hole at the top open so it doesn’t explode).  Add puree back to the soup and add milk, garlic powder, salt, and pepper.  At this point, I used a potato masher and mashed the soup some more.  you don’t have to.  Then, I added four spoonfuls of cornstarch to about 6 oz of cold water and mixed it together and added to the soup to thicken.

007

You’re seriously disrupting my zen moments in my window-fort, Mom.

And, on to soup-y goodness:

008

We’ll probably have some birthday cake and low fat yogurt tonight before bed (sugar-free low fat birthday cake that my Mom made for Joey this weekend).

I’ll be tackling the clothes at the foot of the bed shortly…not sure about the papers from class.  Joey is stressing a little and I don’t know if causing a paper avalanche in the middle of the living room would really help.  Although, to be honest, I’m just so happy that I finally got off my ass and cooked something that the rest of my to-do list has become pretty incidental.

Frugal July Challenge Begins!

Thus far, our expenses top out at $20 for the Mexican takeout last night; it was unexpected, but since we didn’t need to do a huge grocery trip this week, that wasn’t too bad. I’ll be hitting the Wallyworld Wednesday to get some snacky stuff for my beach trip Thursday, so I’ll update then!

Leave a Reply

